WUAS Advisory Board

Wittenborg University of Applied Sciences (WUAS) Advisory Board (AB) plays an important role in the development and reflection process, and could play an important role in ensuring the continuity of management of WUAS in any situation that that was needed.

The role of the Advisory Board is to maintain an overview of the activities of WUAS within the realms of the Strategic Plan, and to advise the Executive on its decisions, plans, proposals and operations within 4 different segments: •

  • Academics & Quality
  • Finance & Risk Control
  • Governance & Policy
  • Strategy & Branding

WUAS Advisory Body


​​​​​Membership & Organisation of the Advisory Board and Governance

The members of the Advisory Board should at least number 4 at any given moment, together (rather than individually) representing the 4 segments.

  • Members will be appointed for a maximum of 6 years.
  • Gender & diversity balance in the board is to reflect that of WUAS.
  • Members are expected to (at least):
    • attend 3 Advisory Board meetings a year.
    • attend 1 Graduation Ceremony in 2 years.
    • attend the annual general staff dinner if possible.
    • review at least the yearly occurring lead documents:
      • WUAS Year Report
      • WUAS Financial Year Reports
      • Yearly Quality Assurance Document (produced for NVAO / FIBAA / AACSB or other)

Members are made trustees of the Stichting Wittenborg University of Applied Sciences Advisory Board and the Advisory Board members (trustees).


The current members of the Advisory Board are:

  • Mr Rijn Platteel, (Chair since 2021), Chair regional employer’s association VNO NCW, and company director.
  • Mr Timothy Mescon, former Executive Vice President and Chief Officer Europe, Middle 
    East and Africa at AACSB International.
  • Ms Pauline Verheijen-Dop, LLM, an expert with 20+ years of international experience working in private practice and for Fortune 500 companies in FMCG, Retail, Fashion, Media, Tech and Entertainment industries. 
  • Mr Paul Zevenbergen, former director NVAO accreditation organization, currently Interim Chair of the Board at the Grotius College in Delft Chair Committee Teaching Qualifications (Ministry of Education) Board of directors WACE world association for co-operative education.
  • Ms Professor Petra De Weerd-Nederhof, Dean of Science Faculty, Open Universiteit.
  • Ms Gizem Goren (WUAS MBA Alumnus), Unit Manager of Corporate Banking Underwriting Department of Credit Europe Bank N.V., member of the Bank’s Climate Risk Committtee. 

Areas of oversight for the Advisory Board


Myra Qiu, MSc, FHEA, Process & Quality Manager

Myra Qiu, MSc, FHEA, obtained her Bachelor of Business Administration in International Logistics Management at HAN University of Applied Sciences, the Netherlands. She then went on to complete her MSc in International Event Management and a PGCert in Learning and Teaching in Higher Education, a joint programme with the University of Brighton, UK, and Wittenborg. Myra is a… read more.

Pauline Verheijen-Dop, LLM

Pauline Verheijen-Dop, LLM, Advisory Board Member at Wittenborg, was born and raised in the Netherlands and went to law school in Utrecht. She is an entrepreneurial senior legal counsel with a sharp business acumen and 20+ years of international experience working in private practice and for Fortune 500 companies in FMCG, Retail, Fashion, Media, Tech and Entertainment… read more.

drs. Rijn Platteel

Drs Rijn Platteel, member of the Advisory Board, was born in Amsterdam, but grew up in Frankfurt, Germany. After moving back to the Netherlands, he studied Economics at the University of Amsterdam and specialised in Real Estate and Urban Economics. After graduation, Rijn joined ABN Amro Bank as a management trainee. His first assignment was as Branch Manager in Groningen. He… read more.