Increased Mobility for Non-EU Students in Europe

Increased Mobility for Non-EU Students in Europe

Non-EU Students to be More Mobile Thanks to EU Directive

On 23 May, the Netherlands will implement an EU directive that will make student mobility for non-EU students within Europe considerably easier.

Essentially, students from outside Europe who are going to an EU partner university to study for a year or less (within the framework of an exchange or mobility programme) do not need to apply for a residence permit from the country they are going.

For instance, international students from WUAS who want to spend a year at its campus in Vienna, Austria, for a year or less (360 days), will no longer need to apply for an Austrian visa once the directive is implemented. Previously, they could only do so for 90 days.

In May 2016, the European parliament passed Directive (EU) 2016/801, which facilitates the conditions of entry and residence of third-country nationals for the purposes of research, studies, training, voluntary service, pupil exchange schemes or educational projects and au paring.
In total the directive will be put in force in 25 European countries. Countries where this arrangement do not apply are the UK, Denmark, Ireland, Liechtenstein, Iceland, Norway and Switzerland.

WUP 23/04/2018

by Anesca Smith
©WUAS Press