Netherlands Gives Green Light to Travellers from Several Countries

Netherlands Gives Green Light to Travellers from Several Countries

No COVID-19 Test or Self-Quarantine for Visitors from "Safe Countries"

This week, the Netherlands has lifted entry restrictions for several countries - including 7 countries outside the European Union or Schengen Area. International students fall under the exemption categories and are thus allowed to travel to the Netherlands.

The European countries that have been added to the "safe list" from 15 May are Finland, Iceland, Ireland, Malta and Portugal. This means arrivals from there will be eligible to enter the Netherlands for tourism purposes, alongside residents of the North Aegean region of Greece and the Spanish Balearic Islands.

At the same time, travel for non-essential purposes has also been permitted for arrivals from the following seven so-called "third countries": Australia, Israel, New Zealand, Rwanda, Singapore, South Korea and Thailand. Arrivals from mainland China, Hong Kong, and Macau will also be permitted to enter the country as soon as China lifts entry restrictions on European travel, according to the Schengen Visa Info site.

"If you are coming from a country where the risk of contracting COVID-19 is low (a safe country) you do not need to show a negative test result when you travel to the Netherlands. You are also not required to self-quarantine when you arrive in the Netherlands," the government said on its website.

Currently, the Netherlands has paused all travel from India, South Africa and countries in south and central America due to new and more dangerous COVID-19 variants. The ban will remain effective until 1 June, 2021.

WUP 21/5/2021
by James Wittenborg
©WUAS Press